Home Government Government of BC 2022 Order of BC to 14 recipients

2022 Order of BC to 14 recipients

This year's list includes Chief Rosanne Casimir, Christine Sinclair, and Jody Wilson-Raybould.

Monday August 1, 2022 | VICTORIA, BC [Updated 6:09 pm]

by Mary P Brooke, Editor | Island Social Trends

The 2022 recipients of the Order of BC (OBC) have been announced by Lieutenant Governor Janet Austin, chancellor of the order.

Out of 194 nominees this year, there has been a final selection of 14 recipients of the Province’s highest form of recognition. Last year there were 16 recipients from among 257 nominees.

Anyone may submit a nomination. More information, nomination forms and submission instructions are available online, by phone at 250-387-1616, or by email: bchonoursandawards@gov.bc.ca .

Now 33 years:

Since its inception in 1989, there have been 489 British Columbians appointed to the Order of BC. Members have been appointed from all parts of the province and in numbers proportionate to a region’s population, it was stated in a news release from the Intergovernmental Relations Secretariat, Honours and Awards Secretariat.


The 2022 new recipients brings the total number of Order of BC recipients to 489 since the inception of the award process in 1989; over 6,400 public nominations have been received over the past 33 years.

Formal celebration in Fall 2022:

The Order of BC investiture ceremony for 2022 recipients and invited guests is tentatively scheduled to be held at Government House in Victoria in the fall.

Lieutenant Governor & Premier:

“It is my great honour to welcome 14 new members to the order,” Lieutenant Governor Austin said in the August 1 news release. “Their leadership and generous service has enhanced the lives of so many British Columbians and has contributed to shaping a better future for all residents of our province.”

lt gov, janet austin, premier, john horgan
LT Gov Janet Austin greeting Premier John Horgan in the legislature after her Throne Speech on Feb 8, 2022. [Hansard video]

Premier John Horgan calls the OBC recipients’ contributions “remarkable”. He says the OBE recipients’ hard work, dedication and leadership “are examples for us all”.

“You have helped create a better British Columbia and for that we are grateful,” said Horgan about the 14 recipients, in today’s news release.

The 2022 recipients:

The Order of BC recipients for 2022 are [see full PDF of 2022 Order of BC recipient biographies]:

  • Dr Nadine Rena Caron [Prince George]
  • Kúkpi7 (Chief) Rosanne Casimir [Kamloops]
  • Nezhat Khosrowshahi [Vancouver]
  • Kathy Kinloch [Surrey]
  • Joy MacPhail, CM [Vancouver]
  • Fred Ting Shek Mah [Vancouver]
  • Harinder Mahil [Coquitlam]
  • Maureen Maloney, QC [Victoria]
  • Geoff Plant, QC [Vancouver]
  • Christine Sinclair, OC [Portland, Ore]
  • Paul Spong [Alert Bay]
  • Gerald St Germain, PC [Langley]
  • Jody Wilson-Raybould, PC, QC [Quathiaski Cove]
  • Bruce Munro Wright [Vancouver]
chief, rosanne casimir, kamloops
Chief Rosanne Casimir of Kamloops is a 2022 OBC recipient.

Choosing the recipients:

Any resident of BC, or former long-term resident, who has demonstrated outstanding achievement, excellence or distinction in any field of endeavour is eligible to be nominated.

Fields of endeavour may include community leadership, business, labour, industry, volunteer service, professions and other occupations, arts, sports and others. | About the Order of BC

justin trudeau, christine sinclair, soccer
Prime Minister Justin Trudeau with Christine Sinclair (to his left) and team ahead of the April 11, 2022 Canada Women’s Soccer game in Langford.

Advisory council 2022:

Recipients of the Order of BC are selected by an independent advisory council. The 2022 advisory council consisted of:

  • Robert J Bauman (chair), Chief Justice of British Columbia (he also chaired in 2021)
  • Raj Chouhan, Speaker of the Legislative Assembly (also a member in 2021)
  • Philip Steenkamp, PhD, president and vice-chancellor, Royal Roads University (also a member in 2021)
  • Silas Brownsey, deputy minister, Intergovernmental Relations Secretariat (also a member in 2021)
  • Laurey-Ann Roodenburg, president, Union of British Columbia Municipalities
  • Brenda Baptiste, Order of BC recipient from 2021; and
  • Dr Debra Braithwaite, Order of BC recipient from 2021.
monk office, 70th
Monk Office: celebrating 70 years.


Today on social media, Island Social Trends @IslandSocTrends contributed this comment in response to a some questioning about who was chosen this year:

“OBC results each year seem to depend on who’s up to the task of the nomination process, what social issues are trending, who has reached retirement, & who’s on the selection council.”

ist, twitter


Order of BC | Biographies of 2022 OBC Recipients | Biographies of 2021 OBC Recipients | Biographies of 2020 OBC Recipients

Medal of Good Citizenship

sfas, 2022
Sooke Fine Arts Show: celebrating 36 years.

===== RELATED:

ist, main
Get the free Island Social Trends eNEWS direct to your Inbox.

Order of BC ceremony for 2020 & 2021 recipients online March 3 (March 3, 2022)

Order of BC: 2021 recipients to celebrate with 2020 recipients (August 2, 2021)

2020 Order of BC recipients to be celebrated in person next year (August 3, 2020)


Island Social Trends has been publishing socioeconomic news insights since 2008 (first as MapleLine Magazine 2008-2010, then Sooke Voice News 2011-2013, then West Shore Voice News 2014-2020), launching fully online at islandsocialtrends.ca in mid-2020.

Founding editor and publisher is Mary P Brooke, B.Sc., Cert PR.