Home Election Tracker By-Elections Vancouver-Quilchena byelection called for April 30

Vancouver-Quilchena byelection called for April 30

Electronic tabulators to count paper ballots | Electronic voting books to look up voters

Monday April 4, 2022 | VICTORIA, BC [Candidate list final on April 9, 2022]

by Mary P Brooke | Island Social Trends

A byelection in the BC lower mainland riding of Vancouver-Quilchena has been called by Premier John Horgan.

The announcement came April 2, detailing the Saturday April 30, 2022 by-election date for that electoral district.

The seat became vacant when former BC Liberal Leader Andrew Wilkinson resigned as MLA on February 17, 2022.

For information on voting and registering to vote, call Elections BC toll-free at 1 800 661-8683 or visit: www.elections.bc.ca

BC Liberal candidate:

kevin falcon, bc liberals
BC Liberal Leader Kevin Falcon.

The BC Liberal candidate is the party’s leader Kevin Falcon. If he wins, then the BC Liberals will have their party leader with a seat in the BC Legislative Assembly. For now, Interim Leader Shirley Bond is serving in that role.

Falcon said on Saturday: “British Columbians deserve leaders that understand not just how to talk about the big issues that we face, but also how to execute and get things done.”

Falcon’s campaign co-chairs are Wade Grant and Doreen Braverman.

BC Green candidate:

wndy hayko, green
Wendy Hayko, BC Green Party candidate for April 30, 2022 Vancouver-Quilchena byelection.

The BC Green candidate is emergency management expert Wendy Hayko. “Her professional background will bring a vital new perspective to the legislature as we continue to grapple with devastating crises such as the COVID-19 pandemic and climate change,” says BC Green Party Leader Sonia Furstenau.

“I am running to be the BC Green MLA for Vancouver-Quilchena to bring forward solutions to the complex, interconnected issues facing us today, such as housing, healthcare, and climate change,” Hayko added.

Five candidates:

There are five candidates in all, for this be-election. BC NDP candidate is Jeanette Ashe. The candidate for the BC Libertarian Party is Sandra Filosof-Schipper. Dallas Brodie is the Conservative candidate. [Candidate deadline April 9, 2022 at 1 pm – Official Elections BC list of Vancouver-Quilcehna candidates].

First election using new technology:

This will be the first provincial by-election in BC since changes to the Election Act came into force in March of 2022. The changes include using electronic tabulators to count paper ballots and electronic voting books to look up voters and cross them off the voters list. The new technology will make the voting process easier for voters, and allow Elections BC to report results faster on election night.

“We’re excited about using new technology to help British Columbians vote,” says Anton Boegman, BC’s Chief Electoral Officer. “These changes will make our electoral process more accessible and efficient, and help us provide better service to voters.”

monk office

Voters and voting:

Individuals are eligible to vote in the by-election if they are:

Candidate nominations close at 1 pm on April 9. The final list of candidates will be posted on Elections BC’s website after nominations close.

Pandemic protocols in line with current public health requirements will be in effect at all voting places and at the district electoral office to help voters vote safely.

IST, main