Home Organizations & Associations UBCM Sooke Mayor Maja Tait to serve as 2019-2020 UBCM president

Sooke Mayor Maja Tait to serve as 2019-2020 UBCM president

Wednesday, September 25, 2019 ~ VANCOUVER

~ West Shore Voice News

Now in her second term as Mayor of the District of Sooke, Maja Tait has today September 25 been confirmed in the position of president of the Union of BC Municipalities (UBCM), at the 2019 UBCM convention in Vancouver.

She will serve for one year, for the 2019-2020 term until the next UBCM convention in September 2020 in Victoria.

Since 1905, UBCM has served as a collective body by which mayors of municipalities around the province to connect with each another and create opportunities to address issues of mutual concern. All municipalities and regional districts in BC are UBCM members, taking part in the Annual Convention that is taking place at the Vancouver Convention Centre September 23 – 27, 2019.

Mayor Tait was first elected to the UBCM Executive in 2016 and has served in the role of Third-Vice, Second-Vice and most recently First Vice-President. Over the past three terms, the District of Sooke reports that she has served on numerous committees including Health and Social Development, and the Joint Provincial-Local Government Committee on Cannabis Regulation.

Addressing her Sooke constituency in a District of Sooke news release today: “As a relatively young municipality, there is a lot we can learn from other communities who have faced the same challenges we have”, says Mayor Tait.  “We don’t operate in isolation; commonalities exist in towns and cities across the province. UBCM allows us to look at ways to address these commonalities collectively, and to stand together to advocate for the support we all need to build strong, thriving communities.”

Coincidentally, today is the second of two advance by-election voting days in the District of Sooke for filling the one (1) seat that remains open on Sooke council, following the passing of Councillor Brenda Parkinson in June. The by-election general voting date is Saturday, September 28.